The Resurrection

It’s so hard to imagine the future. Sometimes I look at my hand and tell myself “This very hand will mold and rot.” But it’s hard to feel the truth of it.

But how wonderful by faith to look even further than that, and say ” because of Jesus, this very body – corruptible and mortal – will be clothed with incorruptible immortality.” (I Cor. 15:53) As Job saw in faith “Though after my skin worms destroy this body, yet in my flesh shall I see God: Whom I shall see for myself, and mine eyes shall behold” (Job 19:26-27a)

I’ve been seeing  a lot of ads recently for the organic burial pods that “turn your loved ones into a tree”. For none of us is our best case scenario to turn our loved one into a tree; our loved ones are so much more wonderful as loving, laughing, listening, learning, living human beings!  But of course when death comes your beloved cannot continue in your life as before – that somehow he could continue as a tree might give a little comfort. The ad says – “No matter what your faith, or if you believe in an afterlife, these organic burial pods that turn loved ones into trees make the idea of death a little more comforting.”

pod

This makes me think of how limited we are – how powerless before death. This is the best we can do? If Death gets my beloved, and I get a tree, this is a loss for me and a total loss for my beloved. Death won the battle.

How wonderful then when Jesus says ” I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live: And whosoever liveth and believeth in me shall never die.”

That’s not just a little comfort, that’s a complete turning of the tables! I think He’s talking about the end of time (another thing hard to imagine), and promising believers in Him that if they are dead they will then live, and if they are living they will never die.

DSC_1689.JPG
Photo credit: Me. I’m a calligrapher.

I love being alive. Feeling life inside you is a feeling incomparable to any other feeling I know (obviously). That a real man named Jesus  (not a stained glass window or other-worldly icon) who walked the real earth, really said “I am the resurrection and the life” and promised resurrection and eternal life is shocking. But if I believe the words, they are immeasurably comforting. God give me grace to feel the truth of this  future day which  I can barely imagine.

Maybe to help us believe, right after saying this He did something even more astounding – He called His ‘loved one’ Lazarus out of his tomb, showing that he was not just another one of the mourners; He was a different kind of comforter than those who had already come to comfort Mary and Martha (Lazarus’s sisters). He is The Resurrection. The Life.

Leave a Reply

