A False Knight on the Road

One word from her whose love I cannot doubt
Would bring me from the purpose I pursue;
But with barely listening ears I go about
To shut this gate – no more to saunter through.
In fondest hours I think I see a way
In which all could be gained and nothing lost,
Yet know I lose myself if here I stay
For what I cannot see, I want the most;
Only for me? What prize awaits the quester
Who only for himself a-questing goes?
At end of day he rides with rusted armour
And even from himself no love he knows.
But swiftly ride I hence – How strong my horse,
How small and weak the heart that guides its course!

Knight on the Road
Knight on Horseback -Albrecht Duerer

 

 

Leave a Reply

